CBT all done!

6 Dec

Well today has been eventful, I have completed my 3 year stint with Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, today was my final follow-up appointment, just to check up if I was okay and that I was coping well.

Normally when I arrive at these sessions with my therapist, I have a long list full of problems and situations where I felt I couldn’t cope and felt like it was getting on top of me again, but for the first time since I started this program, the only list I had was all the things I DID cope with and how I aim to improve on them.

As we sat down and spoke about the activities I had been doing such as social occasions, work and family life, we looked over my progress charts, which is basically data taken from a questionnaire I fill in every time I go to visit the therapist, from this you can get an idea of how I’ve been feeling, for example, have I been worrying a lot? have I avoided anything? do I feel the need to hurt myself? have I been able to sleep or sleep too much? etc.

So from looking at my charts from when I started where all the questions were in the high levels, today they were in the mild sections which is a great improvement, which shows my mood has changed, my outlook on things that originally scared me are now just small issues and I don’t spend hours worrying about the problems, I just do whatever is it I need to do and see if the “worst” happens, and pretty much 10 out of 10 it never does, proving to myself it is all in my mind!
Whilst we carried on our chat, I moved onto starting this very blog and she seemed very interested in how I was using it, and was pleased that I had found a way to just get my thoughts out and nip new worries and concerns in the bud before they escalate like the issues that have me been bothering me for a good 5-6 years.

Now the CBT is over, I feel great, I feel more positive about life and challenging things that would nearly put me into a blind panic. Although it will be strange to not speak to a professional about this any more she assured me that I am not alone, as I can contact a therapist at any time using a self referral number where I could get in touch with my local Mental Health and Well-being service where I could start the process again if need be.

But after today and the positive feedback I have received, I believe I won’t be needing that number for a VERY long time, everything is starting to look rather rosey! ๐Ÿ™‚

Karla

One Response to “CBT all done!”

  1. Mike December 7, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    Hey there. That’s wonderful that you completed your program, and you found it successful. I’m currently working through CBT on my own, and even though I am seeing great results, it can be very exhausting at times. Changing those negative thoughts is a full-time job! I can also relate to your thoughts on how anticipatory anxiety is usually worse than the actual event.

    Anyway, I hope things continue to go well for you. Take care! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

